top of page
Storytime
Search
  • Writer's pictureJasmine M. Gorton

Book Review of Dune by Frank Herbert

Updated: Apr 1, 2022




I started this book, Dune by Frank Herbert, last week and being completely honest, it's the most interesting book I've read in years!

Dune by Frank Herbert is about young Paul Atreides, who is the sole heir to the noble family. His only task is to make an uninhabitable planet, habitable. And his other goal is to collect a spice called, Melange, that extends human life and consciousness.

But when the destruction of his family befalls him, Paul finds himself walking the path to reclaiming his right as the true heir to Duke Leto Atreides. Will he be able to survive on this planet and reveal a destiny greater than himself?

When I embarked on the journey with young Paul, at first I thought the book was okayish. But as I trekked further into this newfound world, I could not stop myself from reading! I devoured each word on the page, and lost myself inside this book.

Having to put this book down, left my mind swirling with endless possibilities as to what might happen to Paul. It was a, I'm putting everything on pause to finish this book, type of book I have not read in a while.

The characters were exceptionally thought out, and I could feel the raw emotion each one felt. I felt the grief of losing a loved one and the happiness of accomplishing my goal in the end.

I give this book five stars.

80 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page