top of page
Storytime
Search
  • Writer's pictureJasmine M. Gorton

Short Story-Not Apart of This

Updated: Jan 2, 2022

Hey everyone! Here's a short story I've written! It's called Not Apart of This. I plan on publishing a small book of short stories, and this one is going to be inside the book. Here's the story below, comment below what you think of it! All criticism is accepted! It helps me improve as a writer!

At fifteen, Gavin was not what everyone thought he was. In school, they classified him as a quiet kid. The kid they considered a nerd. But in reality, Gavin fought villains at sundown, his courage roaring loudly. Standing in front of the first friend he made, he waited for the villain to do his worst. “Ah, so I see our hero has a friend after all?” Vlad asked, as his eyes skimmed the girl standing behind Gavin. “She’s not apart of this, Vlad!” shouted Gavin, holding a hand in front of the girl. “What’s going on, Gavin?” Janet asked, shaking his shoulder. He gripped his book and opened it. “The moment you became friends with her, you involved her in this fight!!” Vlad lunged at Gavin, ready to kill him. Instinctively, Janet leaped in front of him. Everything around Gavin happened in slow motion. Janet slumped to the ground, a sword piercing her chest. Gavin was on his feet, fighting with every ounce of strength he could muster. All the anger, frustration, and fear that built up in Gavin, he hurled at Vlad. Breathing rapidly, Gavin snapped out of his trance when he saw Janet lying on the ground. “Janet!!” he screamed. I’m so stupid! I shouldn’t have let her learn my secret! This is my fault, Gavin thought. “Come on, Janet!” he whispered through a stream of tears, “stay with me. I know you’re a fighter.” Janet coughed, her eyes slowly opening. “Never imagined you’d be a part of something like this” she cracked a smile at him, “Glad I was in it for the end.” She exhaled as Gavin screamed her name in the rain.



Comment below what you thought of this short story!




14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page