top of page
Storytime
Search
  • Writer's pictureJasmine M. Gorton

Writers Block (We've All Been There)

Updated: Feb 10, 2023



Beginning this post, I stared at a blank canvas with nothing on the screen. And then an idea struck me! I had writer's block. For the whole month of April, I could not produce a paragraph, let alone a single sentence on my paper/document. I would stare aimlessly at the screen and then eventually close my laptop/notebook and go on my phone.

So, with this post, I'm talking about how I'm beating writer's block. Typically, I take a week's break from writing when I get burnt out from school and writing.

However, this was not the case. I keep forcing myself to write and whenever I didn't write, I had this gnawing feeling at the back of my skull to go write now. But I couldn't write. So I didn't write. In time, I totally forgot about writing.

Today, I got back on my laptop and started writing this as a warmup. Which is the first step to conquering writer's block. Below are a bunch of steps to tackle writer's block,


1. Free Write!


a. Freewriting helps get your brain working on brainstorming random ideas onto the paper

2. Listen to Music!


b. Listening to music can help you get a good story or daydream started in your head


3. Day Dream!


c. Daydreaming usually helps you create a good scenario you have been trying to come up with forever


4. Grab a Book!


d. Reading is a definite way to get your imagination working! And it also helps you admire other's crafts and you can learn to build upon yours


And those are the four tips that have helped me out in getting rid of writer's block!

Comment below your way of how you get rid of your writer's block!






23 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page